From his transcriptions of mammoth piano works to capturing the essence of Rimsky-Korsakov’s orchestral suite, Capriccio Espagnole, on solo guitar, it seems like Jorge Caballero is drawn to musical challenges many guitarists wouldn’t dare attempt. But what makes him such a remarkable guitarist is his ability to make everything he plays, no matter how difficult, look and sound effortless.

One of our most favorite artists, we could think of no one better to open our 17-18 International Concert Series! In honor of the occasion, he’s prepared a program for us that’s sure to dazzle.

Here’s a preview:

The first half of the concert features Jorge’s transcriptions of keyboard music by J.S. Bach and the great Spanish composer, Isaac Albéniz. Especially exciting will be Jorge’s performance of his landmark arrangement of Bach’s Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue, a work originally written for organ.

Then, after the break, Jorge will tackle Kazuhito Yamashita’s fiendishly difficult arrangement of Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 (“The New World Symphony”). Two hands, six strings, and 19 frets. I’m not sure how this beloved orchestral work can all fit on one guitar, but I bet Jorge will make it look easy – and sound stunning.

Join us for ACG’s Season Opening Concert!

Jorge Caballero, guitar
Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 8pm
AISD Performing Arts Center

Prelude and Fugue, BWV 849                                                                                     Johann Sebastian Bach
(from “The Well Tempered Clavier,” Book I)                                                                                (1685 – 1750)
Arr. J. Caballero
Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue, BWV 903

Cantos de España, op. 232 Isaac Albéniz
I. Preludio (1860 – 1909)
II. Oriental
III. Bajo la palmera
IV. Córdoba
V. Seguidillas


Symphony No. 9, op. 95 (“From the New World”) Antonín Dvořák
I. Adagio – Allegro molto (1841 – 1904)
II. Largo arr. K Yamashita
III. Scherzo: Molto vivace – Poco sostenuto
IV. Allegro con Fuoco