Beauty. Virtuosity. Clarity.

Two years ago, the Beijing Guitar Duo made their Austin debut and left us all speechless. When these two young artists return on April 29th, we’ll all be reminded why they are one of the world’s most acclaimed guitar duos.

On their program, we’ll hear works by composers we have come to know and love, like Scarlatti, Isaac Albéniz, and Enrique Granados. We’ll also hear something completely new: the world premiere of a piece by the Chinese composer Chen Yi, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Music in 2006. She wrote this piece specifically for the Beijing Guitar Duo and on April 29th, Austin will be the first audience to hear it performed live!

Please join us for ACG’s Season Finale Concert. Come hear beautiful music played by two brilliant young artists and be a part of history as a new work is added to the guitar’s repertoire.

Join us for ACG’s Season Finale Concert!


Beijing Guitar Duo Concert Program 4/29/2017, Austin, Texas

Sonata K.173, L.447Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757), arr. Alexandre Lagoya

Valses PoéticosEnríque Granados (1867-1916)

Meng Su & Yameng Wang, guitars


Five BagatellesWilliam Walton (1902-1983)
Alla cubana
Sempre espressivo
Con Slancio

Meng Su, solo guitar




Sonata “Omaggio a Boccherini” Op. 77Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (1895-1968)
Allegro con spirito
Andantino, quasi canzone
Tempo di Minuetto Vivo energico

Meng Su, solo guitar


Nian Hua (Chinese New Year’s Paintings)*Chen Yi (b.1953)

Bajo la PalmeraIsaac Albéniz (1860-1909), arr. Grubler-Maklar Duo

Meng Su & Yameng Wang, guitars


*World-Premiere, written for the Beijing Guitar Duo